District Meetings to be Held in Early January

Registration begins at 6:30 p.m. 

Meeting at 7 p.m.

Monday, January 4 ­— District 3

Tuesday, January 5 ­— District 5

Thursday, January 7 — District 2


Oconto Electric Co-op’s service area is divided into seven geographic districts and each one is served by a director. Every three years the term of the director from either two or three of the seven districts expires.

A district meeting is held primarily to get nominations to fill the new term. OEC members interested in being elected to the board are nominated at their district meeting. At least one, but no more than two people, can be on the ballot to run for director from a district. If more than two people are nominated to run for director, an election will be held at the district meeting. The two people receiving the most votes will be placed on the ballot for the general election, which is held at the co-op’s annual meeting on April 9. The 2016 district meetings will be held in Districts 2, 3, and 5.

District 2

The incumbent director in District 2 is David Hischke. The meeting will be held Thursday, January 7, 2016, at How Community Center, on State Hwy 32 west of the Village of Suring. Registration begins at 6:30 p.m. and the meeting at 7 p.m. District 2 includes members in the township of Bagley, Breed, How, Maple Valley and Underhill in Oconto County and the Menominee Reservation.

District 3

The incumbent director in District 3 is Tony Wagner. The meeting will be held Monday, January 4, 2016, at St. John Lutheran Church, 2274 County Road C in Morgan Township. Registration begins at 6:30 p.m. and the meeting at 7 p.m. District 3 consists of the Townships of Gillett and Morgan in Oconto County and Angelica, Green Valley, Washington and Wescott in Shawano County.

District 5

The incumbent director in District 5 is Ken Cisar. The meeting will be held Tuesday, January 5, 2016, at First American Lutheran Church, 511 Madison Street in Oconto. Registration begins at 6:30 p.m. and the meeting at 7 p.m. District 5 consists of the townships of Grover in Marinette County and Little River, Oconto and Pensaukee in Oconto County. It also includes sections 1-18 in Stiles Township and that part of Little Suamico Township that lies in T26N-R21E also in Oconto County.

All members within each district will receive a special invitation to the meeting late in December. All OEC members are welcome to attend a district meeting, but only the members from the specific district will be eligible to vote.

After the meeting a hot lunch is served and door prizes are awarded. At the end of each meeting a name will be drawn to win $100 cash!